CHFC - McNamee Website winners 2004

Castleknock Hurling and Football Club win GAA McNamee Award for Best Club Website

Aug 28 2004
Burlington Hotel

The GAA recently announced the winners of the 2003 McNamee awards. These awards are presented annually by the GAA in recognition of outstanding contributions made by individuals in the area of communications. The concept evolved as a result of the McNamee report published in 1971.

Castleknock Hurling and Football Club were the winners of the Best Website Award. Due to not having a Clubhouse the website, acts as the Club’s ‘virtual’ meeting place. Speaking after the presentation, Tony Nulty, Communications Officer with the Club said, “Myself and David Leydon, who look after the site, are really delighted that the website has won this award. The site is working well and is a credit to the mentors who take the time to email us reports on their matches and also to Fergus Hamill who was the original driving force in getting the site going.”

“Each week the Club Notes, lotto results and match reports are put up. The monthly newsletter is also available to download from the site. Club profiles and lots and lots of photos are also online. In any given week the website is updated about 5 times”.

The Club would like to thank all who contribute to the website with reports and photos, in particular Fergus Hamill who updates the Lotto results each week, but also, John Hillery, Gerry Kelly, Jim Healy, Michael Maher, Séamus McKiernan, Terry O’ Brien, Michael Wylie, Johnny Corcoran, Eamonn Connor, Fiona Brennan, Colm O’Dea, Barbara O’Neill, Ray Murray, Mags O’ Brien, Leona Molloy, Con O’Gorman, Brian Kelly, Seán McLaughlin, Pat Convery, Pat Comerford, Frank Curley, Padraig Purcell, Fergal Quinn, Damien Whelan, Vivian Peelo, Jim Prunty, Ciarán Prunty, Laura Donoghue, Colin McCabe and Australia based Niall Tutty.

Many thanks also to Webtrade ( CHFC’s web hosting and development partners.

The Award was presented to Tony Nulty and David Leydon, on behalf of the Club, by Mr. Seán Kelly, President of the GAA at a function in the Burlington Hotel on Saturday, August 28th 2004 (photos below).

Below are the comments of the GAA on
Best Website: Castleknock Hurling and Football Club. “The Dublin club’s website is a deserving winner of this year’s awards. Their site is regularly updated and easy to navigate. It also offers regular email updates to club members and contains excellent photographic content with extensive archival information.”

There were nine categories in the 2003 Awards and among the other recipients were Kieran Shannon of The Sunday Tribune, Frank Rogers of the Ulster Herald and South East Radio. For further details log onto to

Finally and most importantly, it is up to our Club members to keep this site going. If your son or daughter play a match, why not send in a 200 or 300 word report with the names of the team and result – it doesn’t have to be the mentor! Nobody is going to ask you, as the ad goes – just do it! Send reports, photos, comments and criticism to