Frank Dardis Perpetual Trophy claimed for second year running

Sun, 12th February 2006

Result: 0-12 to 0-08

Castleknock’s Junior footballers won the Frank Dardis Perpetual Trophy for the second year running last weekend (Feb12th). The tournament is an annual competition organised by St Brendans. The four teams invited were Castleknock, Na Fianna, Round Towers and St Brendans themselves. Castleknock were paired off with Round Towers in the first semi-final while Brendans faced Na Fianna in the other semi.

Castleknock’s game with Towers turned out to be a one sided affair with Castleknock running out easy winners despite a strong first half by Towers. Goals by Gerry Kelly, Davy Leydon and Eoin Maloney gave Castleknock a decent cushion and they were ably assisted by joint players of the year Brian Kelly and Paddy O’Brien, full back John McMenamin and new signings Iggy Reilly in midfield and Danny in the nets.

The win ensured Castleknock had to play again the next day in the final against Na Fianna who pipped Brendans. In a tough encounter not helped by the heavy pitch and the sore heads from the Spring Ball(!), Castleknock ground out a victory by 4 points with Barry Farelly leading the charge with 8 points. The win sets the team up nicely for their opening match against Monicas in the Conlon Cup.