Goal Blitz Proves Too Much For Castleknock Senior Hurlers

(08 Aug 2020)

Castleknock 1-15 Round Towers, Clondalkin 4-17

Goals conceded at almost exactly the same time in each half left Castleknock with an impossible mountain to climb in this Senior ‘B’ Hurling Championship Round 3 match against Round Towers in sun-splashed Somerton this evening (Aug.8).

The goals aside Castleknock were more than a match for the visitors in the first-half as Cian Boyle punished Round Towers six times from frees, the last just before the break the result of some excellent play by Eoin Sawyer.

Conor Chawke had earlier added two points from play and Cian O’Dulaing added another point to give Castleknock their half-time total of 0-9. But it was the two Clondalkin goals, on 12 and 22 minutes that left Castleknock chasing the game by the interval when the margin was already six points, 0-9 2-9.

The third quarter more or less summed up Castleknock’s evening. The home team gave as good as they got with points from Cian Boyle (2), Eoin Sawyer and Conor Chawke from out on the left side-line for a very positive opening to the half but then 12 minutes after the resumption Round Tower’s struck for a third goal to undo all Castleknock’s hard work.

The final quarter followed a similar pattern, Castleknock getting very little reward for an enormous amount of effort before Round Towers struck for yet another goal which came 22 minutes into the half yet again.

A terrific Max Byrne point from way out on the left was little consolation as the visitors piled on the misery with another four points in a row before substitute Ciarán Carey cut through the Clondalkin defence to slam the ball to the roof of the net to give a frustrating, late indication of what could have been.

The defeat means that Castleknock, after a bright start, go out of the Senior ‘B’ Championship on score difference, a disappointing end to this unique 2020 championship.

Castleknock: Jack Banks; Jack King; Darragh McCormack; Max Byrne (0-1); Ciaran Murphy; Ronan Conway; Liam Quinn; Davy Bohan; James Tolan; Colm Breslin; Cian O’Dulaing (0-1); Conal Purcell; Eoin Sawyer (0-1); Cian Boyle (0-9); Conor Chawke (0-3). Subs: Ciarán Carey (1-0); Luke Whelan; Brian Hughes.

Manager: Emmet O’Carroll.
Report: Kevin Mallon