Junior ‘F’ Hurlers Honour In Defeat

(09 Aug 2020)

Castleknock 2-11 Fingallians 2-17

While Fingallians looked likely winners for long periods of this Junior ‘F’ Hurling Championship match in Somerton on Sunday afternoon (Aug.9) Castleknock never gave up, chasing to the very end of a highly entertaining and well contested game.

Indeed, at the end of the first quarter Castleknock led by 1-3 0-5, the goal coming on three minutes from Gerry Mulryan who shot to the Fingallians net off an upright.

The corner-forward who scored 2-4 in total, then added two points, complemented by another from Shaun Melia to give Castleknock that one-point lead.

The visitors physical strength and obvious experience came to the fore in the second-quarter when Castleknock were held scoreless as Fingallians tagged on six points, five from play and one from a 65’ to leave five in it at the interval, 1-3 0-11.

In the second-half a Castleknock comeback seemed a possibility after Gerry Mulryan grabbed his second goal to reduce the margin to just three points but a Fingallians goal seven minutes into the half restored the visitors lead and from then until the end Castleknock had just too much to do to catch them.

Still Castleknock recorded another eight points before the end. Paddy McKiernan landed the first followed by a second for Shaun Melia and a fine point from wing-back Hugh Hogan.

Centre-back Ciarán O’Flannagain landed a mammoth score added to by Hugh Feeney and it was left to Gerry Mulryan with two pointed frees and another from Ciarán O’Flannagain in the final ten minutes to complete the scoring, with Castleknock getting stronger the longer the game went on.

All the Castleknock players put in a huge effort, competing for every ball right to the final whistle as evidenced by Sean Kennedy’s broken hurl and that really is all you can ask of any team.

Castleknock: Eoin McCambridge; Tom Griffin; Barry Brennan; Aonghus Murray; Hugh Hogan (0-1); Ciarán O’Flannagain (0-2); Alan Kelly; Stephen Callinan; Paddy McKiernan (0-1); Shaun Melia (0-2); Sean Kennedy; Jamie Bradshaw; Gerry Mulryan (2-4); Hugh Feeney (0-1); James Finan. Sub: Eoin McKiernan.

Manager: Patsy Hough
Report: Kevin Mallon