U12 Secure Division 1 Title

U12 Secure Division 1 Title
29 Sep 2014
Russell Park
Castleknock 4-10 v St. Brigids 0-05

On Saturday September 20th Castleknock travelled to local neighbours St Brigids knowing a draw would crown them Division 1 Football Champions in their first season of competitive leagues with a game to spare.  Nothing was taken for granted with all the boys putting in some great training sessions in the couple of weeks leading up to the game.

It was a nice fine sunny morning for the many Castleknock supporters who were expecting an entertaining game. The start of the game saw St Brigids play with a couple of extra defenders which was frustrating on the Castleknock players as scores were hard to come by. A couple of goal scoring chances were missed by Castleknock mid way through the first half but Mark Connellan(2), Daniel Murphy & Thomas Norton all found there range and the lads led at half time 04 – 03. 

At the start of the second half St Brigids lined out more attack minded and this was quickly punished within the first two minutes with a goal from Evan McSherry. As the game opened up Castleknock were finding space and this was ruthlessly punished by full forward Conor Murray with a scoring blitz on the day of 3-2. An additional 3 points from Murphy, a point from the workhorse midfielder Alex Watson and a point from Dylan O’Keeffe ensured there was no way back for St Brigids. The Castleknock defence was well marshalled by Oisin O’Flannagain & Oran Farrell who stood solid all second half and reduced St Brigids to just 2 points.

Also amongst those who also impressed were Fionn Gibbons whose high fielding in midfield set up numerous attacks. Our defenders Ben Harding, Matthew Lynam & Robert O’Shea whose bursting runs and ball into space created the scoring chances for our forwards, our goalkeeper Cian Sheerin with another clean sheet and his pin point accurate kickouts. 

At the end Castleknock ran out comfortable winners 4-10 to 0-05.

Castleknock Team: C Sheerin, R O’Shea, O O’Flannagain, B Harding, O Farrell, M Lynam, F Gibbons, A Watson, D Murphy, T Norton, E McSherry, C Murray, M Connellan, D O’Keeffe, B McDonald, M Bohan